Birth Control is Not a “Women’s Issue”

I know, another long and unexplained hiatus. The end of the semester caught up with me, and I probably won’t have much chance to post for the next couple of weeks. I should be studying right now, but this just irritated the crap out of me. (Warning: the following material has a high sarcasm-to-content ratio.)

A friend of mine posted a link to this article on Facebook today. For those of you who haven’t been following the Eden Foods story, it’s the same old whining and ranting about how horrible it is that employees can use their health insurance for, you know, health needs. Especially when those icky female employees are using it to treat their girl cooties or whatever.

The part that really floored me, though, was this quote from Eden Food’s founder and CEO. Supposedly he doesn’t care about birth control. Makes sense, of course, because my response to issues I don’t care about is always to go file a lawsuit about them. But why doesn’t he care about birth control?

“Because I’m a man, number one and it’s really none of my business what women do.”

If this isn’t doesn’t make the case for better sex education, I don’t know what does. For the edification of anyone who may be as confused as Michael Potter, allow me to explain something. Women do not get pregnant from masturbating. We do not get pregnant from having sex with other women. Do you know how we get pregnant? By having sex with men.

Would you like to know why vasectomies are so popular? After all, the men who receive them are in no danger of becoming pregnant. And as I understand it, the procedure is not particularly fun. However, men are willing to get them because men who have sex with women frequently have an interest in preventing pregnancy.

By the way, Mr. Potter has six kids. So, when the mother of those children was pregnant, was that his problem? Did that affect him at all? Did he feel any responsibility to provide for those children or to help raise them? If so, then I don’t see how he can claim with a straight face that pregnancy is not something men ever have to deal with. If not, then the idea that he would presume to lecture anyone else about morality becomes even more laughable.

As a bonus, I’d like to leave you with this little gem:

I floated by him the fact that contraceptive coverage is cheaper to pay for than, say, maternity coverage.

Potter replied, “One’s got a little more warmth and fuzziness to it than the other, for crying out loud.”

Warmth and fuzziness. A solid basis for medical and legal decisions if I ever heard one.

Leave a Reply

